#1 Margaritas and make-shift art on the Hill

Over the previous weekend, I met a man named Niall who’s a native Seattleite. He struck me as a “man about town” but about 10 years too young. This week I agreed to meet up with him for a bit of bar exploration. Actually, I (probably quite aggressively) told him he had to take me out because he knew so much about the Seattle bar scene. After a tromp through rainy Cap Hill, we began the night a Fogón, a ~Cocina Mexicana~ on East Pine. After a quick walk, we enter into the most happening place I have ever seen on a Wednesday.

img_0667

A tight and sexy male host seats us at a typical half-booth, half-table. I don’t even glance at the food menu, I just dive straight into the happy hour tiny A-frame menu (which reminds of every drunk IHOP experience I’ve ever had). I order the cheapest appealing drink, the bartender’s margarita. It’s cranberry infused, so it’s like the best combo of a margarita and a vodka cran – a couple of my faves. It’s a Wednesday so I’m “taking it easy.”

img_0663

Fast forward 30 minutes and I’m drunk, spilling my darkest personal secrets to this man. Meanwhile, the waiter was routinely attentive, especially when my date and I realized the roof was leaking onto our skin and it wasn’t just me excitedly spitting through my life stories.

As we decide to leave, I realize I’m not done yet. I ask my friend, “where else is there to be on a Wednesday night?” And he simply replies, “follow me.” We head East to a bar/obscure amateur art gallery called Vermillion. My date makes it out to be a cool hip art gallery, but it is more of a hodgepodge of recycled sculptures and unique lighting.

img_0672

The place smells slightly of Euro hostel, and the bar in the back looks just that. However, the vibe is chill as fuck and I genuinely enjoy viewing the art pieces, and mostly, reading the dramatized and ethereal descriptions. At this point, I see the night fork into two distinct paths: follow this boy into the night and enjoy the void that is mid-week midnight on the Hill, or take myself home to reflect. Luckily, I choose the latter.

img_0675

Leave a Reply

